Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Book Review: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe


The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe was published in 1950, and it was the book that first introduced readers to the World of Narnia. Years later, in 1955, Lewis wrote a prequel to The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, entitled The Magician's Nephew. While The Magician's Nephew was the sixth Narnia book to be written, many readers prefer to begin the series with The Magician's Nephew. (Image and synopsis from

My Review:

A renewed childhood favorite! Now I remember why I liked this book. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is one of C.S. Lewis' most popular works. It tells the story of four children, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy, who find their way into Narnia, a magical land, and have their own adventure of good versus evil.

Following the tradition set in The Magician's Nephew (the first book in the Chronicle of Narnia series), Lewis uses many Christian references in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Aslan, the Jesus-like lion saviour who sacrifices himself just as Jesus did to save humankind, Edmund betrays his fellow companions just like Judas, although Edmund is ultimately able to redeem himself, and the stone table which suggests the stone tablets that Moses brought down from the mountain bearing the Ten Commandments.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe has it all for children- adventure, magic, children characters to relate to, and good morals. Even at the of age 21, I enjoyed this book thoroughly.

My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment